Get To Know Me

book quote, character, get to know me, quote, writing

Let’s get to know our main male character, Luka, from “Betrayal Comes After” through a conversation with his mother.

“Okay,” I say, not returning her kisses or embraces. I haven’t been able to in years.

“Well, isn’t that lovely,” she smiles. I can tell it isn’t genuine. It’s the same smile I use.

“Yes,” I respond. I look past her towards my father’s office hoping she will catch on to my clear displeasure in the direction this conversation is taking. She takes the hint. Her eyes narrow, and she quickly plasters her fake smile back into place.

“Right, well. You best be on your way.”

“Yes.”

“You have a good day, Luka. Perhaps we could have dinner together as a family sometime?”

I eye her wearily. Something is up. I have a feeling I am about to find out. “Okay,” I say, finally stepping away from her and making a hasty retreat to my father’s office. I’m not sure which is the lesser of two evils: my superficial, fake mother, or my overly robust, self-centred, abusive father. Apparently I choose the latter.

What do you think Luka’s home life is like? What do you think he does for a living? Let Turner and I know in the comments!

-Collins

Leave a comment