I’m here. It’s time for a quote.

Uncategorized

Hey,

Turner here.

I know, I’m the silent partner.

It’s okay though, Collins is wonderful and I know she’s keeping you all entertained.

So, I believe I’ve posted about this band before, The Neighbourhood. Well, recently, I’ve been into them a lot more. I found these lyrics in the song “Afraid”, and they spoke to me so highly I decided to share them with you.

Being me can only mean
Feeling scared to breathe
If you leave me then I’ll be afraid of everything
That makes me anxious, gives me patience, calms me down, lets me face this,
Let me sleep,
And when I wake up (when I wake up, when I wake up) let me be

As someone who has struggled with fear, anxiety, with the devastating feelings of loss, the moment I heard these words, it struck my heart with the greatest recognition I’ve had in a long time. I like however, that even though the singer acknowledges that they have these struggles, it is those struggles that make them who they are. We deal with the things that make us scared, we move past them and in the end, it makes us better. That is my interpretation at least.

Let’s hear yours.

Turner

Leave a Reply

