Thou shalt not dye their hair unnatural colors

controversial, inspiration, life, motivational, writing

Why does the color of a person’s hair reflect their nature?

Why does the amount of ink on someone’s skin reflect them as bad people?

Why does the amount of clothing covering someone’s body reflect their sexuality?

I use the word “reflect” as not a straightforward meaning, but an extrapolation to a larger issue. Why does how someone chooses to represent themselves lead others to jump to conclusions about that person? I am extremely grateful that I have an open and artistic mind. I can see these things and appreciate them as art. I can also see them for what they are intended to be. A true reflection of what a person feels like inside or want’s to show others.

I understand that people from older generations did not grow up in the diverse world we younger generations have, and accepting these things can be difficult. They often have negative views on piercings and tattoos as mutilation. In fact, much of this prejudice has to do with religion. I have often seen religious people doing things like giving disapproving looks, whispering, teaching their children that deviating from the norm is bad. Hell, I’ve even seen religious groups protesting outside heavy metal concerts. Have we not progressed past all this yet? From what I understand, I don’t think that anywhere in the 10 commandments does it say “Thou shalt not dye their hair unnatural colors,” and “Thou shalt not put a tattoo needle to their skin.” I thought that loving thy neighbours and accepting others was stressed though. Funny how messages like that can get lost in translation.

We should know better and not need a book to tell us right from wrong. We are beings with a conscience and should know the difference. Because treating these people differently is a form of bullying. And if we are not okay with kids bullying kids, why do we allow adults bullying adults?

Fundamentally, we are human beings, and regardless of how we choose to present ourselves to the world, we all deserve to be treated with respect and kindness. I have always admired these more extreme individuals for showing themselves in such visual ways, open to a wide array of reactions from strangers. I hope that as time goes on being yourself becomes the norm. I know this will take a long time, I’m not an idiot. But I am optimistic.

-Collins

Leave a Reply

