get to know me

book, book quote, character, excerpt, writing

Let’s get to know another one of our “Betrayal Comes First” characters, Stef’s best friend Cyn.

I work to calm my ragged breathing. “Cyn, I worry about your safety. I don’t know what I’d do if I lost you.”

She squeezes my shoulder. “I know. But don’t worry, I’m a big girl. Plus Victor really is a great guy. He treats me like no one else ever has. I feel . . . loved, when I’m with him. Please trust me when I say that.”

I am about to protest again, but when I catch Cyn’s eyes, I see something I haven’t seen before. Fragility, and fear. Fear that I won’t accept her choice. I cannot accept Mednikovs, but if Cyn really has found something in this guy, should I really tear it down? She hasn’t had the easiest life. As her best friend, I know I need to put my prejudice aside. At least when I’m with her.

“Okay,” is the only calm response I can muster.

She elbows me in the side. “You know me. I’ve always liked living dangerously.”

I refrain from clubbing her in the head with a handbag as Darlene saunters in. “How are you ladies doing back here?”

I quickly hide the handbag behind my back. “We’re doing fine, thanks.”

What can you glean from Stef and Cyn’s conversation? Are they always on the same page? Or are they at odds?

-Collins

Leave a Reply

